Ways to add protein to your diet

Image

Part of my marathon training has involved taking a look at my diet and making some changes.  I like many marathon runners in training started gaining weight.  If you follow me on FB or twitter you could tell it was FREAKING ME OUT. I admit it may have been an over reaction, but after being 250lbs and pretty much overweight from 1st grade on I don’t want to go back there.  I worked hard the last few years to get where I am by changing my eating, gaining healthy habits, and working out.  That being said one of the big things I have done to help lessen the weight gain from overdoing carbs is I have worked to increase my protein.  There is a lot of emphasis on carbohydrates with running, in part because that is what our bodies preferred source of energy is; it is not however the only source of energy.  Also protein is very important in the repair process for our muscles and is one of the macronutrients that helps us to feel fuller longer.  Both muscle repair and not having the runchies all the time are super important in being healthy and maintaining my weight.  So I have a few things I thought I would share about how I am increasing my protein intake with snacks and meals.

  • Eggs- I love them anyway so I usually have an egg sandwich in the morning with 1-2 eggs or an egg for a quick snack in the afternoon to help hold me over for dinner.
  • Protein powder- yesterday after my 16 mile run I knew I would be starving the rest of the day if I didn’t do something about refueling right away.  I grabbed a double dose of Designer Whey vanilla protein powder, I could spare the calories so it was no big deal.
  • Nuts- I love raw nuts and nut butters so I find that they help sustain me as a quick little snack, especially paired with some pears (pun intended).
  • Dairy products- some days I find I crave milk, greek yogurt, or cottage cheese so I will have a little bit.  I also find that if the runchies get me later in the evening a small glass of milk will sit on my stomach better and not be too filling.
  • Quinoa- I love quinoa, it is so versatile, you can eat it as if it is a side like rice, you can throw it in your eggs, you can eat it instead of oatmeal, or throw it in your favorite soups.  There are so many things you can add it to that I can’t possibly list them all here.  They are used like a grain, but guess what?  They are actually a vegetable and a complete protein; I am a major fan if you can’t tell.
  • Edamame- I discovered dry roasted edamame at the store the other day and oh my goodness it’s great!  I must admit it is one of the healthy things I could easily go overboard with if I am not mindful. 

Whatever your particular diet (paleo, vegan, vegetarian, clean eater) getting enough protein is vital for muscle repair, brain functioning, and fighting off hunger (runchies) so you can maintain weight.  What are some of your favorite ways to boost your protein intake, especially after a hard run or workout?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarahkerner
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 04:28:20

    Mmm… I love all the things you mentioned, although I’m much more likely to overdo it on nuts than edamame. I really love cheese but I’ve cut my dairy consumption back significantly over the years. (Not intentionally, it’s just happened that way slowly.) I usually save protein powder for after strength workouts, but after a 16 miler? I’d say you made the right call.

    Reply

  2. Pamela Hernandez (@ThriveFit)
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 04:31:11

    Dry roasted edamame is the best snack ever. What a nutrition powerhouse!

    Reply

  3. Toni Church (@tonee78)
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 09:23:07

    I have been drinking Core Power protein shakes, 26g per bottle and delicious. Great post!

    Reply

  4. Suzanne Digre (@WorkoutNirvana)
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 12:40:43

    Can you say “muscles loaded up with carbs and storing water??” This happens so often to my clients. It’s a major freakout period that usually subsides. I love all your ideas – always a good reminder!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Ways to add protein to your diet | jenniferjasonwood
  6. shiramiller
    Mar 02, 2014 @ 16:29:11

    Eggs are such a go-to for me, especially post workout for my recovery. We will also keep roitsserie chicken or homemade paleo-recipe turkey burgers around for meals and snacks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

