Adventures in cooking

I have been experimenting in the kitchen today trying to come up with some good ideas for breakfast and lunch.  I was getting tired of the same old things over and over so I have opted to switch a few things up.  I must admit that some of the experiment didn’t go horribly awry, but it didn’t really go as well as I hoped.

First up I decided that I wanted to do something different for breakfast in the mornings.  I must admit at this point that I have an ever so slight addiction to Starbucks in the morning.  It’s just too easy to get their egg white reduced fat turkey bacon sandwich and my coffee.  I know it’s not the worst food ever, but I am looking to go clean and lean.  So a friend gave me some guidance and I grabbed some vanilla Whey protein powder, oatmeal, and cottage cheese; yup you read that right.  The consistency seemed good with 1 heaping scoop of the powder, a cup of oatmeal, and half a cup of cottage cheese.  I added water to make it a bit thinner, but I didn’t measure it. This is what I ended up with:Image

They taste great, but were hard to flip and I am pretty sure needed a binder like flax egg substitute or egg it’s self.  I’m not giving up on this and will just revamp what I did next time by adding some egg and reducing the water.  I will be adding some fruit and a tiny bit of natural peanut butter with it to round out the meal.

Next up was a total success!  I hollowed out some green peppers and stuffed them with barley, jalapenos, red peppers, and Swai fish.  I sauteed the fish, the jalapenos, and the red peppers before adding them to the barley; then I mixed in some organic diced tomatoes and garlic powder.  I baked them covered in an oven for 45 minutes until the peppers were tender.  I had considered adding some pineapple to the mix and may later when I have to reheat for lunch.  I grabbed a spoonful whiel stuffing the peppers and the mix tasted great!

ImageThis was part of my weekend adventure; I find it fun to experiment in the kitchen and I am working on doing better with clean more nutritious eating.  I also have some cut up veggies, have some fruit, and some Luna bars for snacking.  What are some of your go to items for meals and snacks?  

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarahkerner
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 03:28:51

    You’ve hit on a topic that is beat and dear to my heart! My go-to breakfast lately has been steel cut oatmeal (cooked in a big batch ahead of time and reheated in the morning) with a bit of protein powder, fruit or pumpkin, and nuts or nut butter. Still working out good snacks, but I always try to combine protein, good fat & carb so I get a filling snack. (Your stuffed peppers sound great, btw! I’ve never made them with fish before.)

    Reply

  2. Shira
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 05:30:41

    All of the extra meal prep work will pay off and I’m glad you are finding some great new recipes! My go to breakfast is oatmeal with fruit (usually some kind of berries), almond milk, sliced raw almonds and a drizzle of raw honey. Some of my favorite snacks these days are hummus with brown rice cakes and almond butter on apple slices. For portability, I cart around those little portion controlled trail mix packs from Trader Joe’s and green juices from Arden’s Garden, which is a great way to increase the veggies in my diet too.

    Reply

  3. SlenderGrapefruit
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 06:43:19

    My favorite snack is simple: an apple and some all natural peanut butter. So easy, so healthy, and so delicious!

    Reply

  4. Suzanne Digre (@WorkoutNirvana)
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 18:43:30

    My ears always perk up at the mention of protein powder for some reason. Sounds interesting… My go-to snacks are dry-roasted unsalted almonds, apples, baby carrots, and unsalted pretzels. I keep it clean and natural!

    Reply

  5. Toni Church
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 06:55:30

    I am really particular about protein powder so I rarely add it to anything unless it is completely flavorless, the only protein powder I currently use is chocolate shakeology…just for shakes. I make a protein pancake by adding 1/4 cup of liquid egg whites, 1/2 cup oatmeal and 1/2 cup cottage cheese and cinnamon, blend or mix and fry in a pan with pam. I snack on apples, pb and roasted chick peas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

