Hydrating in the winter

I don’t know about you, but for me it is MUCH easier to drink water in any other season but winter.  A prime example was today when I went on a group run.  I didn’t take any hydration with me and since I got up, got dressed and just went I didn’t drink any before hand either.  I’m grateful that there are two local running groups that actually have a water station on the trail my group ran on, otherwise I would have been in even worse shape.  As it is I felt a headache coming on at the end of my run and I am certain that my lack of energy was partially dehydration.

According to the National Academy of Sports Medicine the recommendations for water intake are:

  • Sedentary men should consume (on average) 3 Liters and women 2.2 Liters of water a day.
  • We should consume 14 to 22 ounces of fluid 2 hours before exercise.
  • We should drink 6 to 12 ounces of fluid for every 15 to 20 minutes of exercise.
  • A fluid loss if even 2% body weight will adversely affect circulatory functions and decrease performance levels.

I know that this sounds like a lot of water and there are a lot of other factors to think about when it comes to individual needs, but in general I know I have a hard time with this in the winter.  My drink of choice is coffee because I like the taste and want the warmth.  That being said I am going to make some efforts to be more mindful about this and wanted to share some suggestions for you to consider.  Please remember if you have doctors orders to follow them and even though I am a trainer I am not your trainer nor a dietitian, so please see a doctor or a dietitian of you need a specific plan.

  1. I’m going to drink at least one glass (16oz) of water before I consume any coffee in the morning and I will make it room temperature.  The cold water just isn’t appealing to me when I am already cold.
  2. I’m going to switch out some coffee for some decaf teas, there are a ton of flavors and I will take some with me to work so I have another option.
  3. I will start tracking my water on Fitbit.  Tracking helps us stay aware and stay honest about what we are doing and shows when and where we need to make improvements.
  4. I will make sure to drink at least one glass (16 oz) with lunch, dinner, and snacks.

This is my plan to make sure I am staying hydrated even during the winter.  I know it’s important for my performance and training.  I want to do my best and frankly don’t want to have the physical problems that come with not consuming enough water. 

What tips can you offer about staying hydrated in the winter?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:37:28

    Eating lots of water rich vegetables can help too. Also some coconut water post workout can help.

    Reply

  2. Toni @ Running, Loving, Living
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 17:40:20

    I am the absolute worst at hydrating and not just in the winter. I have recently got a few UTI's from being dehydrated. Hydration is so important and I am definitely going to make a point of drinking more, thanks for the reminder!

    Reply

  3. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 23:12:53

    Good luck and happy holidays!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

