Looking for motivation

I am having a very hard time getting myself motivated to do my long runs.  I’m struggling with even starting the marathon training to be honest and I am not sure why.  I want to complete a marathon at least once in my life, it was actually my dream first, not the half marathon, but I went for the half feeling it was more realistic for a first step.  I could honestly kick myself for not pushing through and continuing the marathon training once I finished my half.  I was on schedule to do 14 miles the next weekend, but then I got sick and it just didn’t happen.

My race is April 26th, 18 weeks away from next week. I have been looking at the training programs out there trying to find one that will work with all the stuff I have going on in life.  It’s hard, because this is a huge commitment and I have a lot of those already.  If I had the room I would get a treadmill to put in my garage so I could use that and be nearby when needed.  The program I am going to try is different from Hal, good old Hal helped me get to where I got the half done, the man knows running.  This time though I am going to try Marathon Rookie because it will allow for slightly shorter long runs during the week and allows time to keep up with some of my strength training.  I have been working hard to get that habit going and I don’t want to lose it.  It’s also a 16 week program so I can fudge a little bit with miles next week and still get where I need to go.  After all next week is Christmas so I want a little down time.

I hope that I can find my motivation or mojo soon.  If you have any suggestions or anything that has inspired you please share it, I would love to hear or see it.  Feel free to share on my FB page Formerly Fat Girl Running.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theexsaffa
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 09:25:24

    hey there I hear you,loud and clear. Motivation is part of the problem for most runners but I find remembering why we started running helps as a motivator. I think a lot of running is mind over matter and also enjoying is key. If you put too much pressure on something it becomes tedious and not worth the effort. Once you are in a routine keep at it . If you find that your body is aching ,but its a good ache keep going or just take a break for a day and get back into it:D Don't let your mind play tricks on you. Love running its the most freedom you'll get and the buzz after is so addictive better then any drug:):) Good luck with your training and NB there is time in your day if you make it.

    Reply

  2. Jenn Speer
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 03:40:17

    Thank you, your right it is a great feeling and I know it so I just need to have faith in the process.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

