Changes for the upcoming year, are you ready?

It has been awhile since I have posted on here and I have missed it horribly!  So many things were going on for awhile there and now it is winding down…for a tiny bit.  So if you follow my FB page you know by now (I’ve been sharing excitedly) that I took and passed the NASM CPT exam yesterday.  In other words I am now a Certified Personal Trainer!  And I honestly have gotten a ton of congratulations and a few, so what are you going to do with this???  HA!  I kind of saw that coming and I am still deliberating on this a little bit.  For now what it means is that I am a step closer to being able to address my patients with not just fighting addiction and using behavior changes to stop smoking, but to look at their overall lifestyle and treat them as a whole person.  For so many years I have addressed one part of the equation and now I am moving towards what it really means to be healthy, in body and mind.  I hope to get and help with weight support groups and helping people find the ways and confidence to exercise.  If you had asked me a few years ago if this would have happened or even seen me as a kid there is NO WAY you would have guessed this would happen. 

All that being said, I have some other things to consider, if I want to try and do some online training for people or get some individual clients.  I am not sure about that right now, but one thing I do know is that I will be my first client.  Seriously, I have shared how lacking my resistance training is and now it is time to do something about it, no excuses I’m ready.  I will also be taking a look at my blog and adding or revamping some things.  I love having this knowledge, but what good is it if I don’t use it?  So I will put it to use and you to work!

The other SUPER exciting news is I paid for my first marathon!  I am officially committed for it in April of 2014!  So before I know it, it will be time to step up the running mileage again, meaning that a plan of attack is extremely important.  It’s a pretty flat trail and outside my hometown so I look forward to having family there and friends to cheer me on.

Finally, several months ago I shared my fear that I wasn’t going to pass (I felt it up until the guy said congratulations) and that when I passed I would take on another fear that I have had for years, bike riding.  I never really learned beyond the training wheels stag as a child.  For years I felt ashamed of this and was even laughed at because of it.  If nothing else this, my weight loss journey, and all the big changes I have had in the last several years has taught me that I can overcome the obstacles in front of me.  I was once told that fear stood for False Events Appearing Real, what is the worst that I might experience in trying?  Bumps and bruises or failure, but I will never know until I try. After Christmas I will get a bike and start learning how to ride.

These are some of my plans I already have for the new year, no resolutions involved, just good solid and achievable goals.  Tell me, do you have any goals for the upcoming year?  Are you ready to start with some great goals? It’s almost the new year so it’s a good time to start thinking about it.  If you have some please share!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela
    Dec 12, 2013 @ 11:11:04

    Congratulations! I know you'll do great things with the knowledge. 2014 is going to be a big year!

    Reply

  2. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana
    Dec 12, 2013 @ 18:19:40

    Sooo, much going on with you girl! Congrats again on passing the CPT – really admire this. I will say that training other people has a HUGE learning curve… it's tough to learn "on the side." I also used all the information I learned on myself with fabulous results. If you ever need anything, let me know. Can't wait to hear how you like cycling!!

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Dec 12, 2013 @ 21:58:54

    Congrats on passing your exam and for signing up for your first marathon! It sounds like you have lots of great ideas of how to put all your studying into practice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

