Prepping for my half and done with being skinny fat

Feels like I hardly ever get to post anymore and I really hate that, but so much is going on with life lately that something had to give and multiple posts a week were it.  Not for much longer though as some things that I have going on are settling down.  That being said I am so glad that you have all held on and had some patience with me about this.  I promise that the studying to be a CPT will pay off for you as well because I will be able to provide you some great information.

Today I wanted to share something with you that I have been noticing about my own physical make up.  I am what you would call skinny fat.  Now I know that sounds contradictory, but it isn’t if you bare with me I will explain.  I am nowhere near a big fan of BMI, I think that there are way to many factors that it overlooks.  That being said I do know that much like a scale it is a good starting point for people that already know they are overweight.  When you are fat you really don’t need anyone standing there with a sign or a chart to point it out, you know.

I weigh somewhere between 145-150lbs, significantly less than I used to and I am thrilled about that.  But with my focus being so much on running (my love!!!) I have neglected strength training horribly.  So much so that I am fearful of what my body fat vs lean muscle is.  I haven’t used any equipment to measure it, but I can feel it in my own body.  Certain clothing feels less comfortable and fits differently and my guns are more like pea shooters than the magnums I would like.  So what’s a girl to do? 

This girl is going to suck it up, decrease her running just a tad and put more focus on the strength training.  I know I have said this and been struggling with this for a bit, but part of my struggles that I have shared in my post were probably closer to planning and preparation rather than being in the action stage.  I feel like I am finally ready to take action once this week and my half is done next weekend. 

In fact I am going to take my training skills and education and write up a training plan for myself.  I still want to run and will just cut down to 1-2 miles the days I do strength and will continue with a longer run on the weekends.  I still have the goal of doing a pull up and I want to be able to kick my boyfriends butt at arm wrestling!  I also wouldn’t mind having super strong and sexy legs and back.  I mean have you seen Suzanne at Workout Nirvana and Lindsay at Lean Green Bean, they have muscles!!  Those are just two of the ladies I admire strength wise.  I will also start doing the food journal again.  I actually kept it up a few days after my car accident and then got a “I’ve been through heck I deserve this ____ (fill in the blank with junk)” attitude.  Not healthy nor smart because none of that junk helped me survive the stress.  In fact the increase in junk probably made it worse. 

So next week I am going to say no to any sugary treats (this will be hard I will have to keep some fruit around), no more alcohol for the week (having a nice beer as we speak), reduction of caffeine (another challenge), and only the run of 3-4 miles on Tuesday (probably the least stressful day since I will get to run).  After that it’s all about the tapering, hydrating, stretching with some myofascial release, and eating more complex carbs.  My race will be what it is, I want to finish it knowing I gave it my all.  I know from experiences thus far that each time I run I get faster and stronger.  I honestly felt great at the end of 8 miles today and could have gone longer, but knew I shouldn’t.

It’s 6 days 22 hours and 6 minutes and counting until my first official half marathon.  I have my bib number, know my corral number, and have people I am going to the Expo with to pick it all up.  My boyfriend may not be able to come with me, but if he can’t I have a friend that will be so I have someone nearby to celebrate!  I CAN’T WAIT!!!

Soon you are going to see a faster, leaner, stronger me!  Then DUN DUN DUN I start the marathon training back up…oh yeah I will CONQUER 26.2 on April 26, 2014!  (and a few halfs in the mean time, lol!)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 12:25:04

    A little strength training goes a long way to helping prevent running injuries and improving speed. I can't wait to hear how the half goes!

    Reply

  2. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 20:57:52

    Super proud of you for making this decision Jenn! Most people ignore their weak links but you have awareness AND action – so big ups to you! And thanks for the shout out :). Loving the iron has its benefits! Good luck and let me know if I can do anything to help.

    Reply

  3. Shira
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 22:17:33

    Can't wait to hear about this stronger, exciting part of your healthy living journey. I got the same "skinny fat" shock during a muscle mass assessment at Canyon Ranch in 2011. While my size remains pretty small after the 50 pound weight loss 20 years ago, I was neglecting strength training and it really caught up with me in my forties. So now I make it a top exercise priority!

    Reply

  4. Toni @ Running, Loving, Living
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 03:08:26

    As a runner I know exactly how you feel, while I am on the thinner side I am definitely "skinny fat" as I neglect all other exercise in favor of running. I am going to be incorporating more strength into my regimen too! Good luck on your half!

    Reply

  5. Yum Yucky
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 19:48:42

    A woman with a good plan is DANGEROUS! That would be you, of course. Here's to you kicking butt and makin' moves that makes it happen. 😉

    Reply

  6. Kristen @ Swanky Dietitian
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 23:09:13

    Good luck tomorrow!And I know what you mean. When I was training, I really neglected strength training. There just isn't enough hours. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

