Recycled Run recap and Sunday prep

This week has been a really rough week for me.  Several ups and downs involved all of which I will make it through, but things I wish I didn’t have to deal with.  If you follow my FB page you might have caught that I had a car wreck.  I am still dealing with the insurance and seeing what is going to happen there and that is about all I choose to say about it.  Other things going on will pass as well, I know this so it helps me to be okay. 

That being said I choose to celebrate the good things going on in my life.  For instance yesterday’s 10k in which I set a new PR and finished in 1:04:04, I took about 3 minutes off of my time. These aren’t the official results as of yet, they will be getting them posted soon. But based on the picture a friend from my race club took I think it will be pretty close to that.  It was pretty cool to race with some people that I knew and some ladies I am getting to know even better.  I can’t tell you how glad I am to have met them.

The course had a few challenges too it, but wasn’t bad at all.  I forgot my earphones so I did the whole race just listening to my own foot steps and my breath.  I probably spent most of the time telling myself right foot left foot.  I have to be honest, I felt like total poo that day. I was feeling dizzy and nauseous and probably shouldn’t have run.  But I wanted to so badly and figured if nothing else I would walk it.  I can’t explain why I did as well as I did other than the regular practice of running and focusing on pushing my speed up a bit.  That morning was a good morning and Calico Racing that put the run on were awesome.

As for my food prep today I am making chilli to eat on for the week.  It’s supposed to cool down a bit here in Vegas and I like eating something warm so I decided to shake it up with some chilli.  I have ground turkey, organic kidney beans, tomatoes, peppers, onions, chilli seasonings, and my secret weapon a dash of cinnamon.  I find it adds a nice flavor to it.  I will have to take a look at some other chilli recipes and see how I can shake up my traditional and try some new things with it.  I’m not big on eating beans and this is one of the few ways I will do it.  Add to that my traditional chopped veggies and hummus as well as I will make some egg sandwiches for breakfast. 

Since I am not feeling super good still I am taking today as a rest day and possibly tomorrow.  I may just take my sneakers to work and walk the stairs for a bit during lunch.  I am not sure yet I will have to see how I feel.  If you look at my medal I know it says Labor of Love and my shirt says Running with the Devil, it’s because the Recycled Run is a run that uses some of the over bought shirts, medals, and numbers thus the name.  I thought it was a pretty cool concept and love the medal I got, because running really is a labor of love.

Leave a Reply

