12 miles & still moving thanks Pro Compression

Okay so technically I am sitting down, but even after I finished my 12 miles this morning I have been up and moving a lot so that I can stay moving.  In fact tomorrow I may do a short run with my running club so that I can stay moving.  Mostly I want to go out to breakfast with some really cool ladies, that will be our little secret…*wink wink*.

I decided to change up my route just a bit, but I still had to go uphill for the first half of my run.  However it didn’t feel as bad as it had before and I think there are two reasons:

  • Last weeks run got my body a little more used to long distances after doing some shorter runs lately, I have no doubt about that.
  • The compression socks really helped and are still helping with the recovery process.

I gotta say I am totally in love with these socks, I have them back on now to give some support to my legs and to help them continue to heal.  According to their website Pro Compression says that:

Whether at rest, playing a round of golf or running a marathon, your PRO Compression socks are working to circulate blood back to your heart and lungs. With more efficient circulation comes less fatigue and your tired muscles are replenished with fresh oxygen and nutrients to reduce soreness and give you the extra stamina needed to exert yourself at the fullest.

I got the size S/M for my size 7 shoes and they were just right feeling.  My legs really are less tired and my feet are less sore I have to give them that.  And when you run early and have the rest of the day that you have to do things like laundry and shopping, anything that will keep my legs moving better I am more than happy to try.  I also love the fact that it helped me stay warm while I was out this morning on my run.  The day warmed up nicely, but starts off rather cool out here in the desert.  I even wore the socks when I had to run (not literally) to the store after my run.  The quality is also good and they are #Runchat socks!!!  I kept an eye out for some discounts and found some making these a very nice reduced price (thank you Fitluential). If I can get a discount to share with you I will. 🙂 

More than anything I am really happy that my time is looking a tiny bit faster and I should be able to finish my half marathon in 2:30, which is my goal.   Next week I have a 10k and although I don’t plan to wear the socks during (unless it’s cold) I will definitely wear them after for recovery.  Until then the countdown has begun for my first official half marathon it is 28 days 22 hours and 32 minutes and seconds!!!!

I see these socks (and some other cute styles) being a part of my must haves for running and I know they would help recovery from other exercises too.  So have you tried compression socks to help you with your fitness goals and activities? Do you have some must have gear that you use?

*Update 10/20/13 I have a discount to share with you if you want to purchase either marathon socks or arm sleeves at Pro Compression use the discount BLG13 at check out for a 40% discount and free shipping.  What a deal thank you Pro Compression!*
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 02:06:12

    I wish there were compression everything. I need them for my butt, legs, and back. If only!

    Reply

  2. Pamela
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 11:18:18

    It's amazing but they do work! Congrats on the 12 miles.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 14:39:51

    I won a pair of compression calf sleeves this summer on a blog but I haven't tried them out yet — it was way too hot this summer, then I didn't run at the end of my pregnancy. I'm looking forward to trying them out as I get back into running longer distances!

    Reply

  4. Shira
    Oct 21, 2013 @ 16:12:12

    Okay, I was giving my friend Kate, a triathlete, a hard time for wearing these about a year ago. But after hearing her and my Ironman hubby rave about compression socks, I am now a believer. Don't need them for my exercise routine but I'm glad they are working so well for you!

    Reply

  5. Toni @ Running, Loving, Living
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 00:16:15

    I love compression socks!! They definitely help!! I just got a pair of runchat compression socks this past weekend during the runners world half!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

