Sunday food prep and workout update

Let’s start with yesterday’s run, it was HARD.  I had thought about maybe running a full 13.1 so I get the practice again.  I will probably do that again soon or close to before I have to start tapering, which will be in a few weeks.  But this run was very hard mentally for me; almost from the first step I had wild fluctuations between wanting to run and just turning around to give up, but I didn’t.  I really felt a lack of energy until I got to mile 4 or 5 and then I started to feel like I got into my groove.  I took my usual fuel with me and I think it all did fine, I think it was the fact that I was doing a steady uphill for the first 5 miles is what killed me.  If that is the case I need to get used to it so I can build strength. 

Along the way I paused my phone, trying to see how my time would be doing 11 miles if I didn’t have to account for long waits at crosswalks.  Then it happened…I.forgot.to.turn.it.back.on…DUN DUN DUN!  It sucked and the minute it hit me I practically kicked my own but.  It was a good mile or more down the road when I realized that I did it.  Thankfully MapMyRun is around and I was able to figure out my mileage even though I didn’t have my time.  I did in fact get my 11 miles (give or take a quarter mile) and probably did it around 2 hours.  About where I figured I would be at this point, and this leads me to guess I will be close to my goal of 2 and a half hours (maybe a bit more) for my half marathon.  Who knows how it might get better before then, I will be doing a bit of speed work so it might affect things.   Mostly I am glad I pushed myself to do it.

Today’s workout was totally different because I ran only 1 mile and then I hit the pool.  I am not a strong swimmer so I usually skip something like this because I mostly dog paddle or go on my back.  I did both of those, walked, and for the first time opened my eyes and didn’t plug my nose.  That’s right, you read that correctly.  Not only can I not ride a bike, but I can’t swim well at all.  With today’s success I am hoping I can build on it and get more comfortable in the water and maybe one day take lessons.  Who knows maybe I will be a 60 year old triathlonist, it could happen.  The pool wore me out though, I totally felt a difference in my muscles from doing it.  I also spent a nice amount of time just stretching while there and it felt really good.

I decided to roll with the something different day and made soup for my lunches this week.  I had been contemplating it for awhile and decided it was a good idea for the cooler weather.  It has chicken, kale, sweet potato, bulgar, brown rice, zucchini, carrots, celery, green peppers, red peppers, onion, stewed tomatoes, and the kitchen sink…just kidding about that last one.  I put it all in chicken broth and some water and it made a TON!  I will have more than enough for the week.

I hope you all have a great week and that you got a chance to do your food prep. It’s a great way to stay on track with healthy and delicious eating all week.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andi
    Oct 14, 2013 @ 03:15:01

    Jenn, I did the exact same thing on my half marathon practice run last week! I only paused it at crossings; sooo gutted I realised I'd forgot to turn it back on! Congrats on the run though, I'm sure you'll smash 2 and a half hours 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jenn Speer
    Oct 14, 2013 @ 04:24:21

    Thank you and I just found out that my brother got me a Garmin so I hope that will help.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

