Lessons learned in 38 years

Another year older today, maybe another year wiser that we have yet to see.  If we are all still here next year I will let you know the outcome of that.  I can say that this year I will go into it with more direction in my life and hopefully healthier (starting tomorrow after the meatloaf, cake, and beer).  I am closing in on no ice cream for an entire year soon, I will call it at the end of the month as I have a few more birthday celebrations in the house to make it through. I do think I have it beat though if I passed up that Ben and Jerry’s a few months ago.

So what have I learned in my relatively short years on this planet?

  • For one thing that even though I am 38 age is relative.  As I get older I have a harder time deciding what old is, so far I am thinking somewhere in the late 80’s or 90’s (I plan to live very gracefully to my 90’s with a lot of travel and experiences under my belt).  
  • Family is one of the most important things, you should cherish your time with them.
  • It’s important to live with passion and to push past fears.  I know I haven’t officially finished my half marathon yet, but I pushed past and did 13.1 miles once so far.  It inspired me to charge after 26.2 and I can honestly say if my life will ever allow it I would love to do an ultra.
  • Good friends are important to find.  Even if you don’t always get to talk to them on a regular basis there are friends in this life that you should make and hold onto.  Always be there when they call and support them through the smart and dumb decisions they (we) make.  A good friend knows when to speak up and when to shut up and just hang in until things go however they will.  Then there is no need to say I told you so, you just work on being there.
  • Love is important and should be shared.  If you have love in your life you should find someone or some way to share it.  Animals, volunteering, or just kind gestures it doesn’t matter; we are made to love.  Whether you believe in God or not, human love and kindness should be shared.
  • Running is great therapy for the soul.  I would say it about any exercise really, it’s just for me the running clicked better than any others.
  • Health is one of the most important things I can influence in my life, I have a lot of say and I should do something with that.
  • The KC Chiefs rock, winning or not; I do love the winning part though.
  • Dark chocolate makes most things better, if not add coffee and that should do it.

So that’s it, my words of wisdom discovered in my short years lived on this planet.  I know I have a lot of life to live and a lot more to learn, that’s part of the beauty of life.  So far I can tell you I have done 19 miles for the month and I think I will keep track of it for fun; I want to see how many I can get in one month. I hope you all have a great week ahead. I get to spend most of my week at a conference learning about addiction, healthy living, and addiction to food so I will be in heaven.  I still can’t believe they pay me to learn and do the things I love, I am blessed.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 11:30:16

    You speak the truth. Well done and happy birthday!

    Reply

  2. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 13:54:57

    Beautiful post, Jenn. I could probably print every single one your write but this one is especially inspiring. Agree with all (well, I'm not currently into sports but I get it… I used to be a rabid Rockies baseball fan. I do love dark chocolate but coffee is THE end all-be all :)). And happy birthday!

    Reply

  3. Shira
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 15:49:29

    Happy birthday, Jenn! Kudos on a whole year without ice cream and on exceeding your running expectations.

    Reply

  4. Desiree - Finding the Skinny Geek Within
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 18:31:08

    Happy happy birthday!! Excellent post!

    Reply

  5. Toni @ Running, Loving, Living
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 01:17:32

    Happy Birthday!!! I love your words of wisdom and find the all to be right on target. I add that we should live each day to the fullest and always tell the people in our life that we love them, life is short and unexpected at times.

    Reply

  6. Mary C. Weaver, CSCS
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 17:00:56

    Your wisdom is strong, Grasshopper. I completely agree with you on the definition of "old." And it's nowhere near 40, 50, or even 60.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

