What are you willing to do for your health?

There is a lot of concern about how health care is going to change starting tomorrow, the dreaded October 1st.  Not only will some form of a new healthcare law hit, but it is typically open enrollment for any insurance.  All of this unknown change and potential (probable) change in the quality or affordability of health care is weighing heavily on many people.  I’ve been there, I haven’t always had the nice job that I have now (yes fast food, cleaning, and convenience stores are in my past).  I remember having no insurance or paying half my pay check to cover myself and my spouse at the time.  Here is another MAJOR difference: I weighed 250lbs, very rarely exercised, I was sedentary to the nth degree, and my idea of veggies was pretty lame.  In short I did very little to take care of my own health.  I am blessed in having low blood pressure, but otherwise I was sick a lot.  A few years ago as you know, if you have read my blog, I started changing that.  I am proud to say that today although I am certainly not perfect I am much better and headed in the right direction.  So in the face of all of these changes that will affect your health here is the million dollar question: What are you willing to do about it?

I have said again and again you have some control here, I’m wondering if now is the time you will do something about it.  What can you do?  Here are two things you can do:

  1. Take a look at the food that you eat.  I’m not saying you have to go vegetarian/paleo/organic in everything, but what types of food do you eat each day and how much?  You and your family will probably have high cholesterol if most of what you eat is cheese filled and fried. The recommendations that are on your food label (if you read it, go ahead grab a box or bag) talk about a 2,000 calorie a day diet.  Do you need that many calories and how quickly in the day do you eat them?  Also don’t forget the whole QUALITY of calories vs quantity thing.  Pack those calories full of nutrients, life sustaining ones.
  2. Are you active?  The recommendations have changed if you were familiar with them.  The recommendation is to exercise most days of the week for a minimum of 30 minutes a day.  Now a few of us crazy people (me) would spend all day at the gym or running around outside if we could.  But not everyone likes working out *gasp*!  But exercise provides a huge amount of benefits that are hard to ignore.  They make every muscle stronger (your heart being one) and in turn make your bones denser (osteoporosis prevention).  That’s just the tip of the iceberg on the physical benefits and the mental/emotional ones are huge too!  It is a natural antidepressant and reduces anxiety!

Honestly, it could be that easy for you!  I know that there are individuals that have genes working against them for metabolic disorders (diabetes, high cholesterol, etc.), but what you eat and whether you move will make a difference.  Invest in some activities and foods that will help you to be healthy.  Being active and eating healthy foods will greatly reduce how often many people get sick and have to go to the doctor.  If you are worried about healthcare (something you cannot control) then do something like moving and eating better to help your health (something you can control). Stop complaining and do something.  So how about it are you willing to do your part to take care of YOUR HEALTH?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 11:15:45

    Amen! Real healthcare starts with how we care for our own bodies.

    Reply

  2. shira
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 23:04:57

    You really asked the million dollar question here – what are we willing to do about our own health? It's about taking personal responsibility and until we do, no government offering is going to make as much of a difference. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana
    Oct 02, 2013 @ 17:27:55

    Imagine that! Taking responsibility for your own health, what a concept :). It's smart to look at it from a health insurance perspective, too. Who knows what the future holds for this country with the Congress we're stuck with? And did I mention I have endless respect for the weight loss you achieved? You rock.

    Reply

  4. Jenn Speer
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 01:49:20

    Exactly I have much more control than anyone else when it comes to my health!

    Reply

  5. Jenn Speer
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 01:50:15

    πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Jenn Speer
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 01:51:50

    Awe, you are too sweet thanks!

    Reply

  7. Mary C. Weaver, CSCS
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 17:59:50

    We all want a good outcome—health, energy, normal body weight—but so many people are unwilling to do what it takes. I am constantly inspired by my clients for their commitment to making small but significant changes in their eating and exercise habits.

    Reply

  8. Toni @ Running, Loving, Living
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 00:19:26

    Well said! As a homecare nurse I take care of many patients who have not taken care of themselves and it is heartbreaking. We cannot control our genetic makeup but we can control what we put into our body and how active we are!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

