Where and who were you a year ago?

The other day a blogger I follow posted the question on Facebook asking what were you doing this time last year.  It really struck a cord with me and made me stop to think, what was I doing?  I wasn’t blogging yet so I couldn’t look to that to figure out where I was with things in life, but good old Facebook helped me out. 

This time last year I was getting excited to go back to my home state to see family and friends for a visit.  It had been a few years since I had seen anyone face to face (beyond Skype) and I was really missing home.  It’s weird when you live somewhere for almost your whole life and don’t move until you are in your 30’s.  Everything is so established, you are so established, it takes a bit to adjust and to feel like you have some connections.  Anyway, at that point in my life I can tell you there were a few key things that were most definitely different.

  • I was focused on weight loss- I was still really watching the scale and trying to get as skinny as I possibly could I guess.  I am much more comfortable in this area now.  Don’t read perfect by any means, I still wish this or that bump were different, but my perspective on this is much healthier.  I realize that I need to do what is healthy for my body, mind, and soul.  For me that doesn’t include calorie counting and obsessing on the number on the scale.
  • I still saw food as just food- My friend Tracy helped me out with this and again running has helped me tremendously as well.  FOOD=FUEL It’s as simple as that, I want my body to do what I want it to do so I have to fill it with quality food more often than not.  To be able to run as long and far as I want I have to give it the proper fuel for energy expenditures.  Learning about the process in my NASM studies has helped me out as well.
  • I had some undeclared passions and dreams- I have always thought that runners had a look of freedom and I wanted to share in that so badly, but I was afraid.  I had started to do some running a few miles here and there, but had not seen myself as a runner yet.  It was months before I decided to share that I had dreamed of running races including a marathon. I am signed up now for my first half in November and kind of regret not going for the full, one step at a time however. Next year I want to do a full marathon, I feel like I will have the hang of races down a bit better by then and my body will go much smoother into training for even longer distances.

A lot has changed for me in the last year and especially in the last several years.  That change has not always been easy, in fact some of the changes were quite painful and I hope to never go through that again.  However, life is like that and some of those things are the ones that I cannot control.  I feel more capable now to deal with those changes.  So let me pose the question to you, where were you a year ago?  What goals or dreams did you have that you were working on or were you still finding them?

Tonight I get to get out of the house and run around with some friends, I am looking forward to that a lot.  I hope that you have an awesome weekend and if I don’t post tomorrow it’s because I am recovering from tonight. šŸ™‚

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela
    Aug 24, 2013 @ 19:58:04

    It's amazing the difference 12 months makes. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Suzanne @WorkoutNirvana
    Aug 24, 2013 @ 20:36:01

    Setting goals out loud is just effective, plain and simple. You are doing this and that's why you'll be looking back on your accomplishments this time next year!

    Reply

  3. Mary C. Weaver, CSCS
    Aug 24, 2013 @ 20:51:56

    It sounds as though you've had an unforgettable year! So where was I one year ago? I'd just begun my new business a few months before and had fantasies that it would take off much more quickly than it did. But I've learned a lot in the last year and made good friends, so I can't really regret a minute of it.

    Reply

  4. Jennifer Speer
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 23:34:46

    Sometimes that difference is huge.

    Reply

  5. Jennifer Speer
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 23:35:35

    I know for my personality if I say it out loud I will be 10x's more likely to follow through.

    Reply

  6. Jennifer Speer
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 23:36:14

    Awesome, no regrets is the way to be.

    Reply

  7. Shira
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 17:26:37

    Enjoyed this heartfelt post! A year ago things were a mixed bag – I was so happy to be recently engaged and worried about losing a big client in my consulting business. Now a year later I'm a happily married newlywed (July 12) and business is going well – a lot of it has just been about the attitude I choose to deal with whatever comes up. I'm very excited about your half marathon and can't wait to hear more about it!!

    Reply

  8. Maranda
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 21:13:30

    Wow, what a difference a year makes! It's a great exercise to take stock in where you've been, where you're at and where you're going. Just imagine what the next year has in store!

    Reply

  9. Jenn Speer
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 01:16:41

    Thanks and keep your eyes peeled because I hope to run the equivalent of a half this Saturday as practice.

    Reply

  10. Jenn Speer
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 01:18:05

    Hopefully next year will have a marathon in the books! Now with doing the blogging I will be able to look back and see. Hopefully I will be a CPT as well. šŸ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

