10k race recap aka you can’t tell a runner by looking at them

Did you know that 3:58am is really early, like it’s still dark out?  Yeah this week I have been up three times earlier than the sunrise and two of those times were before 4am.  I.AM.TIRED.  Tired but a very happy tired.  I woke up just before my alarm, which was good because I was afraid I might wake other people in the house up and I didn’t.  I ate my wheat bread with almond butter right away to get my fuel going.  I also started sipping some water right away too as a part of keeping from dehydrating.  Then I stumbled around and got ready.

I was so anxious about it I actually left the house about an hour early and was one of the first few people there that weren’t helping to run the race.  I just couldn’t help it, walking around the house as silent as possible was more than I could handle so before I knocked something over while pacing I decided to leave.  When I got ready to head out my boyfriend said something so sweet to me, he said, “concentrate on the race and have fun, don’t worry about anything else.”  He is such a good man, he knows me and how I would worry about everyone but me even while doing this.  I took his advice and let go of all the other stuff going on with life and just focused on running.

I will say that I at least got to almost the halfway point before the leaders zoomed past me (the top male did the 10k in 36:27 and female 43:23) and there were a few people that I did pass.  So my results ended up being I was 7th in my age range (out of 9, but again not last), 90th overall, a 10:50 pace, and I finished in 1:07:11.  My goals this race were to finish it, not be last, and improve my PR (personal record) all of which I did! 

I wish I had pictures to share, but my phone has apparently died as a result of either over heating or the sweat exposure I am not sure.  I hope that when I try it after letting it sit in rice for awhile that it will start again, but who knows.  If not perhaps my SD card will work in the new phone that I may have to get. I did Tweet a picture before I left the house (notice Dot the cat staring at something outside).

One thing that occurred to me though when I was observing people before, during, and after the race.  There is no particular size/shape or observable physical attributes that determine whether you are a runner.   In fact you couldn’t even really tell by the gear they had either.  Some runners were totally decked out in gear from head to toe and yes, the people at the front of the pack where tall and skinny, the body type you would expect.  However, this guy that was in front of me and beat me was approximately 45-50 something, over 200lbs, and pouring sweat.  He didn’t have the latest shoes (they weren’t neon they looked to be just sneakers), he didn’t have any hydration system, I didn’t even see any ear buds, and he was wearing a cotton T-shirt and regular shorts.  But I will be darned if I couldn’t pass him no matter how hard I tried.  I got close, but he just pulled to far ahead of me towards the end and I didn’t see him again until the finish line.  He rocked this race like no ones business and if he is the person on the results list that I think he beat me by almost 2 whole minutes.  Outside appearances don’t always dictate physical fitness.  I also had the fun of giving some encouragement and the thumbs up to people that I passed.  I told someone “hang in there we are over halfway done” and at the finish line he came up and thanked me, that was an awesome feeling.  I was so happy to have been an encouragement to someone, that really helped make my day. 

Tomorrow I will probably do a few miles on the treadmill and some resistance at the gym (I have pull ups to work towards).  Then my usual food prep of cutting tons of veggies and I am still into doing the chicken salad for sandwiches at least one more week.  I won’t be posting though because I am going to spend the day going over my NASM CPT stuff.  I gotta stay on top of things with that before my time to study is up!  Have a great weekend and I will see you on Monday!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pamela
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 11:53:27

    Well done! Congratulations!

    Reply

  2. Desiree' - Finding the Skinny Geek Within
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 17:16:26

    Great job!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

