Sometimes I surprise myself

 I had a light bulb moment yesterday that I want to share.  You all know enough to know that weight has been a huge struggle for me, it literally started in childhood and continued until recent years.  Yesterday I spent the day at the hospital with my boyfriend for an outpatient procedure (he’s fine of course), but it was nerve wracking.  I had this period of time in the waiting area by myself not knowing what was going on and if I was going to miss out on seeing him before he went to surgery.  Normally my thoughts would go to eating, anything and everything in the vending machine.  This time, for the first time IN MY LIFE, my brain said you need to get up and move/exercise.  I am not saying this will happen every time, but to go to move instead of eat was a huge change.  I’m sharing this because I know the struggle to change thought patterns and coping skills.  Yet, that reaction was proof to me that I have come a long way.  It is also proof that you all can do it too.  If I can change I have no doubt in my mind that you all have the strength to change too.

The month of August is going to be a very hectic one for me.  I will have a lot to do at work and some family commitments that will increase.   I am still studying for the CPT, something that I need to get off of here to do a bit of.  I also am going to do a race, yes I am that crazy that I will do the race and then the speaking engagement.  

My skills though, my strength, my ability to manage stress healthier, and willpower have changed.  I attribute part of it to running.  I know I sound like a crazy runner girl, but I think it’s true.  I am learning about patience and pacing as well as delayed gratification and perseverance.  I can’t wait to get outside and do more running so that I can just run and run and see what the world or Vegas has out there for me.

Monday I am checking out Team Challenge the running team for the Chron’s and Colitis foundation.  They sound like a lot of fun and some great running/race opportunities.  So don’t be surprised if I don’t start promoting them and the fundraising.  I have some questions and want to make sure this is a commitment I can do.  The benefit they offer me would me would be some support and coaching.  The benefit I could offer them is my passion for running and my loud mouth asking for help (HA!).  I am very hopeful and can’t wait to find out more.

So despite not getting to run today, disappointing for sure, I had a pretty good day.  I just know that I am physically too tired and don’t want to wipe myself out or injure myself being careless.  I hope you have a great night and fingers crossed I will get to hike on Saturday!  As for doing 10 miles on Sunday, I will probably push further than 6 miles, but not sure if it will be the whole 10, I have to listen my body on that.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Desiree'
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 16:52:30

    What an awesome attitude! Its a great feeling when you finally get over the dread of having to do something and you get to the point where you actually start looking forward to moving. I'm *finally* kinda at that point now. I know that there will be ebbs and flows, but for now I'm enjoying the moment and looking forward to every opportunity I can get in getting my exercise in!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

