Fighting with yourself to do the right thing

I have struggled lately, like for months since I started training for the half marathon, with doing strength training.  I don’t hate it by any means, I know it’s importance, I just don’t enjoy it as much as running and given the choice I will run first.  As a result I have noticed that the muscle development has gone down in my arms AND my body has adapted to the running so I can tell I am not burning as many calories.  So what to do, what to do….

Today I had an epiphany, really it was just logic and for whatever reason it took me a while to think of it.  I did my strength training first, super simple I know.  I still floundered a bit, part of why I think it’s not as appealing to me, as I didn’t really have a plan on what to do.  I get into the gym I see the equipment, I know how to use most of it, but I really don’t know what I am going to do.  Here is where my studying to be a certified trainer is going to pay off!

I am learning about the type of movements that will increase my speed and overall health.  I am also learning about how to set goals or decide what I want to accomplish so that I don’t feel so lost when I get in the gym.  When I think about it, I felt kind of lost when I started running as well and I had to do some research and develop a plan.  Well it makes sense that I am doing that once again, just with trying to balance things out and add the strength training.  So here is part of the plan:

  • I can do a plank for 2 minutes and 30 seconds, so I am upping the ante and doing it on a balance ball now, where I can do it for about 1 minute.  I want to have a strong core to support the rest of my body.  A strong core is essential to help keep you from hurting your back for one and provides general stability to the hip girdle, which is essential in preventing injuries as you grow older.
  • I want kick butt arms and to minimize the way my “wings” look.  My arms were pretty fat so I have lots of skin there.  The best option is to build up the muscle and it will make the extra skin look less saggy.
  • I want stronger legs; now you might say, but your running long distances aren’t your legs strong?  Yes they are, but there is always room to strengthen the muscles, in particular around the knees, to help prevent further injury.
  • I want a stronger back and chest; I want to be able to to a pull up still and I know that strong chest and back muscles will be essential.

So by the end of the weekend I am going to put together a list of exercises that I can do to help me achieve those things.  Hal Higdon gave me the plan for running, now it’s time for me to make one for the strength training.  I am putting it out here to, because I know me and I am more likely to follow through when I make the commitment known.  Just like I make myself run some days (so far the runner me has won each time), I am going to have to prepare to make myself lift and strengthen too.  It will help with my blerch too; the terrible and wonderful reasons why I run long distances will explain that if you need.  It’s not the right thing as in from a moral standpoint, but the right thing for me to take care of my body.

Leave a Reply

