Running update and Sunday prep

Ahh…Sunday, one of my favorite days of the week.  Today I did my usual prep for the week, cutting up veggies galore and cooking my chicken.  I decided to use the crock pot for my chicken; I discovered that if you just put the chicken in (or any meat really) with a few veggies and spices and just let it cook you will get a very nice juicy piece of meat.  No additives or preservatives (if you get the right chicken) so it is clean eating.  I have my salad greens to put it with and sadly the last of my tomatoes that I bought during my trip home.  They were very good and I shall miss them…I will have to search out a farmers market here to get more fresh veggies.  On top of that I have my yogurt, almonds, dried fruits, and will make my egg sandwiches for the week. 

Now to my favorite part, the running….

I have pink knees at the moment to help support them after not running for a bit and because driving made them really stiff.  I use KT tape, which offers great on line and print directions.  It’s important to know if you just need some taping and if you have an injury, for me it’s just for some support in an effort to prevent injury.  I got off schedule on vacation, kind of figured it might happen, but I am getting back on track.  I was able to do a 4.5 mile run on Thursday and I really wanted to run on Saturday, but knew that if I was going to do a long run on Sunday I should hold off.  Instead I worked on lifting my weights like a good girl and ran my ever loving butt off today.  I got 6.5 miles in and would have pushed for the full 7, but I started feeling pretty weak at the end so I didn’t want to push it.  The great news is that I got 5 miles in by 58 minutes and 30 seconds and the whole run in 69.25.  Rocking my time better than ever before!  I am so happy with my progress, I am steadily getting faster and stronger.  In fact I actually have only 500 more steps to go today and I will hit 20,000! 

I would post more, but I must get at least a little studying in today since I am on a countdown for my CPT exam.  I also want to look up a local running group, I have been toying with the idea of joining one so I need to figure out the details.  I think running with a group on occasion will help me.  Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

