New beginnings

I am excited to share that I have enrolled in NASM’s program to become a personal trainer.  I know that this is going to be an asset to me in my passions and at my job.  I can’t wait to get the materials and start studying; something I never thought I would say.  That said it might mean my posts get a bit short, I might also have some great info to share.  I have a limited time to complete it in so studying will be a priority so that I can pass the exam.  My employer is paying for a part of it so, no pressure…ha!

I am just so fascinated now with how the body works and amazed at how we are able to function.  I will get to learn about how to take care of my body and help guide others with it as well.  I also will get to learn even more about nutrition, an obvious passion for me if you have read my posts.

Beyond this excitement I had another opportunity to hear some great change by the group at my work who are working their butts off (literally) to change their lives.  I can’t express how proud I am of all of them for changing their way of thinking and their relationship with exercise and food.  I can relate so much to what they are going through, it’s like observing the internal change I have gone through only on the outside.  The increased confidence has been wonderful to see as well.

Today they discussed stress and emotions and the role it plays in that relationship with food.  It’s hard to identify feelings when you stuff your face full of things meant to make you feel better.  If you research things you will find that certain things in food will increase good feelings because they cause a chemical reaction in our bodies, much like drugs or alcohol.  In fact there are studies out there that have shown that mice have reacted to sugar more strongly than cocaine.  I will actually get into this more later, but needless to say there is a reaction that when you hear about it makes sense.  I mean they don’t call them comfort foods for nothing…What I love is that this group is realizing that happiness doesn’t come from food, stress relief doesn’t have to come from food, and there are a lot of options out there you just have to find the right one for you. 

So let me ask, what do you do to relieve your stress? Have you found meditation, yoga, running, or other things that help you?  Please feel free to share the more ideas the better…

Leave a Reply

