I’m back….mistakes and successes

I realize I haven’t posted much in the last week, I was on vacation and enjoying time with family and friends.  I had a lot of fun and while I certainly wasn’t perfect in my exercise and diet, it was an improvement compared to last year.  It’s a learning process to find what does and doesn’t work for you.  My packing food to take with me for the travel days to and from worked really well.  I actually should have cut up more veggies I think than I did.  Overall though, I ate pretty healthy on the way there and the way back.  There are a few things I wish I had done a bit better:

  • Controlled myself a bit better when I was eating out.  Portion control could have been better especially in light of the alcohol intake being increased.  Really the worst thing I had was a small frozen custard (Andy’s Frozen Custard a serious must if you ever visit southwest Missouri, if you splurge make this part of it).
  • Exercised a bit more than I did. I will have to figure this one out, because I really felt like I was burning the candle at both ends.  The time change really messes with me there, making it a bit difficult for the body to adjust.  I will admit that one afternoon, the last one that I was there, I chose to spend with my parents because I can run any time, but only had one more afternoon with them before I left.  

As I said, I made a few mistakes, things I will work to do differently next time, but really…I know that it was better this time.  I didn’t drink any energy drinks or soda, I did get a few workouts in, I stayed places where that was an option, and other than the custard  I really didn’t pig out on a ton of sweets. 

Now, it’s time to hit the ground running again, literally…not tonight because I am tired, but tomorrow I will get back to the gym and get some miles in.  I won’t probably get to 7 miles this weekend, but I will try to get 6 in if my body will do it.  I have to listen to it to make sure that I can.  I will say that driving for so many hours really stiffened my knees up in a horrible way.  I have taped them and hope that this will help them to feel better.  Tomorrow I will post about some insights that I gained from my 20 year high school reunion about self esteem and self image. 

Leave a Reply

