Running update and vacation prep!

Today was a huge step for me, I finished 6 miles non stop and I did it in 1:14.  I can’t tell you how proud I am that I was able to do it.  I don’t mean to be offensive in this at all, it just blows my mind that I went from this: 

three years ago to someone that can run #1 for 6 miles and #2 not die in the process.  Seriously, though I felt much more energy doing it and after than I expected and it was really great.  I know I made a few more people look at me and think I am nutty because I was talking to myself about halfway through saying “come on you can do this, your half way there!”.  I ended up doing it in the gym because I didn’t get up early enough to do it outside, it was near 100 by the time I woke up.  I am going to have to suck it up, get up early, and find a good route for my next big mile stone when I get back from vacation.  A girl at the gym mentioned a park nearby so I am going to try and find that.  Running a circle around the park would be nicer than inside if I can swing it.

As for meal prep, I just want to say a few things before I talk about it.  I know it might seem obsessive to some of you that I do this, and perhaps it is, but there is a reason.  That girl in the picture that is part of it, she didn’t care much or think much about what she ate and if it was good for her or not.  That’s where it got her, I can’t say that I had any metabolic disorders like diabetes, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, etc.  But given family health issues, my lack of eating healthy, and lack of moving I was headed there.  If I prep food, healthy stuff, for myself then I won’t make mistakes and eat poorly.  It’s really that simple, make some stuff ahead of time so you can save time in the long run and make better choices for yourself. 

I cut up a TON of veggies and put them in a bag so that I can have them on hand on my trip and at work Monday/Tuesday.  I am going to grab a few pears for something sweet and a couple of bananas probably.  I have some banana chips, almonds, and wasabi peas to snack on as well.  I have also made a bunch of green tea and will put some water in a few bottles to freeze and drink.  Other than a cup of coffee a day, I am trying to stay away from other types of drinks (well until I hang out with friends and have some drinks).  I made my quinoa protein bars and added some instant coffee to them for a little kick if I need it.  I have some hummus to dip for the veggies too.  Then for my main meals I have some egg sandwiches, chicken salad to put on pita bread, and salad to have with some chicken.  I really just want to save some money up front and make some better choices.  I figure when hanging out with friends and family I will probably be slacking a bit, so I want to do my best before hand.  For the way home I am sure my parents will let me use their house to prep a bit.

If you can’t tell I am super excited to go see my family and my friends.  The only thing that would make it better is if my boyfriend could come, I really want him to meet the other important people in my life face to face.  Next year…then I guarantee I will do better eating with him around…LOL!  Have a great day, not sure if I will get to post tomorrow, but plan on a short post at least on the road and checking in during the week.  Next Sunday is only a 3.1 mile run, seems kind of short now…HA!

Leave a Reply

