Weekly prep and support, it’s not just for the girls…

Since I had an extra day off I put off doing my weekly prep until today, gave myself a bit of rest time after the 5 mile run.  So I decided to do a dry rub for my chicken and then grill it up, OMG!  I threw together a bunch of spices and let them sit for 30 minutes before grilling.  No exact measurements here, but try adding: salt, cayenne, paprika, garlic, black pepper, and some brown sugar.  I know, brown sugar is not the healthiest thing ever, but a tiny bit of sugar gives it a great sweet and spice flavor.  I added that to a baby spinach and spring mix, threw in tomatoes, carrots, quinoa, onions, and a sweet potato.  Yummo!  I also chopped my usual veggies and put them in with some natural crunchy peanut butter so I have my three macro nutrients there (protein, complex carbs, and healthy fats).

Now down to business, I had someone ask me recently how I got motivated.  I have discussed it a lot in the blog, there are really many things that helped motivate me.  After I replied to her I continued to dwell on it and really think about it.  I wish I could give one great answer, like the key, but I am afraid that there are a lot of keys to change and they are different for everyone.  BUT….I think that one thing that is really important and that did do a lot to help me is I had a lot of support.  I’m not talking about support as in under garments, but as in the people around me.  I started getting a lot of encouragement from the people around me to get up and get active.  They wanted the best for me and were encouraging when it came to making healthier choices.  I have a boyfriend that is super supportive when it comes to making a better eating choice and when it comes to getting up and exercising.  One of the reasons I posted on my Facebook along the way is so that I could get even more encouragement.  It had little to do with bragging and more to do with keeping me on track and encouraged to keep going.  So if you don’t have support in the immediate area, I would recommend finding some websites or other internet support.  There is a world of athletes and just generally healthy people on all the social media sites who would love to support you.  Check the list of blogs I follow and some of the sites I have recommended.  All of these people kick butt and want nothing more than to see others be the healthiest they can be.  For women try this site it’s a challenge I am currently participating in about defining what beauty really is Under Armour What’s Beautiful.  Have a great day tomorrow, I won’t be posting since it’s my long work day.  I can tell you tomorrow I will be doing a 3.5 mile run and the run at the end of the week will be another 5 mile one.

Leave a Reply

