The real key to making change, self worth

One thing you can tell by the title of my blog is that I was fat and now I am not, but that is only part of the story.  I was overweight there is no doubt, but I was also very unhappy about some key things in my life.  I definitely had moments of happiness and things that brought me joy, but underneath I was depressed.  I believe that one of the things that helped me to get up and get active was that I started looking at those things and building my courage to do something about it.

I was always that girl in school that was boy crazy and would have given anything to find a boyfriend or have the boy I liked like me back.  It never seemed to happen for me though, and in retrospect I think for a good reason.  As friendly and outgoing as I was or tried to be, again I was unhappy.  I was eating to numb myself from the things that made me unhappy even when I couldn’t put my finger on what.  Then I think it was related to feeling like I didn’t really fit in and a fear that I was easily forgettable or overlooked.

Here is what I am learning on my journey that is about me and not necessarily fitness or nutrition related.  I am worthy of the best that I can be and I deserve good things in my life.  Sounds very simple I know, but that knowledge and belief is very empowering.  I always believed this about others, but practicing it with myself was a harder thing. I had and have many people in my life that tried to tell me that, yet I had a hard time believing it.  It wasn’t until I started to believe it and practice it that I saw a change in my life.

Now that I know and believe this it helps me to make better choices for myself.  Rather than just sitting around I find myself getting up frequently at home (in the past I would sit for hours on end rarely getting up).  I find that I will decide to go to the gym after work too and that I will forgo some of the treats at the office.  It doesn’t make me better than anyone else, it just makes me a better me.  If you want to make a change look at the relationship you have with yourself if you don’t feel good about yourself no amount of weight loss will be enough.  I am almost there, finding who I am outside this identity that I developed over the years as a fat girl and then a fat woman.  I am so much more than that and so are you.  What about you, do you struggle with this?  Have you overcome it, if so how?

***Okay separate from the post I wanted to include a link to this article about Stevia, I know that people are looking for alternatives to artificial sweeteners and to sugar itself.  This article presents the truth about the current forms of Stevia that are available on the market.  Please consider it good food for thought. Food girl investigates Stevia: Good or Bad?

Leave a Reply

