An evening with Jillian and weekend update

I was very excited to be able to get tickets to go see Jillian Michaels here in Vegas yesterday.  I recently got her most recent book and have some DVD’s.  I am not really a fan of Biggest Loser or really any reality TV so it really has nothing to do with the show.  Some friends of mine where attending and suggested I go as well so I thought, what the heck it would be a good opportunity to spend time doing something and talking about something that is a growing passion for me. 

One of the first things she says is that she is doing this traveling show because she “wants you to be armed for battle”.  Sounds good to me and the people in the audience.  As you might expect there was a big variety of people there at the show, both very fit and those who are looking to be more fit and lose weight.  One bit of irony I noticed immediately was the concession stand food, it was the usual pretzel/hotdog/nacho cheese/popcorn stuff.  Oh well, they have to make a living I suppose and even those concerned about fitness and health like the occasional splurge, still it was ironic.  I thought to myself, do you WANT her to yell at you?  In reality, real not TV reality, she didn’t yell and I suspect she is actually much more likely to talk you through the choice.

The first half of the show was largely what I have read in her “Slim for Life” book.  She made some pretty simple points (sounded very much like many of my friends).  If you want to be healthy move more and watch what you eat. If you want to lose weight, move more and eat less, pretty simplistic really.  She gave a lot of information about the types of things to eat in the form of combinations and macronutrients.  Most importantly for me at least is she discussed the need to eat less processed more natural foods.  It really hit home for me and I have really been thinking a lot about clean eating anyway.  So I am going to step up my efforts in that area and see how it makes me feel. 

The other half of the show was largely about finding purpose, motivation, and the reason for life.  I completely agree that we need to live with intention, keep our perspective, and find our meaning.  Jillian spoke about figuring out why we do what we do to sabotage and cause ourselves problems.  She admitted to a major flaw of hers that caused her life long problems until she recognized it and addressed it. To do this for ourselves will tell us or help us figure out why we don’t achieve or sometimes even try great things.  We are deserving and worthy of the best.  In short she said a lot of things that I share pretty consistently with others, ha!

She did suggest HIT interval training at 30 second bursts, yikes!  We will give it a shot next weekend and see if I survive some on the treadmill.  Jillian also talked about doing body weight training, which I have already been working on at the suggestion of some friends.  All in all it was a good night and was very interesting and reaffirming in many areas.

Okay so on to weekend prep, I am not going to get detailed tonight, but I did in fact do some prep for both lunches and for dinners this week.  I am also in search of some “clean” bread to eat, I like my bread and don’t want to give it up completely.  I think I may have to hit Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods to see what I can find.  On the fitness front, I am making definite progress with my strength training.  I love being able to see myself get closer and closer to being able to do a pull up.  I am more stable in my dips, lifting more weight on the lat pull, and able to hang for a longer period of time with some control from the pull up bar.  I must admit today after the charity walk I did I was tired, but went to the gym to do strength training and killed it.  I got 3 sets of 10 burpees in and really was only dying at the last two.   All in all a great weekend for me, I hope you had a great weekend as well.  See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

