To count or not to count?

Okay in a previous blog I shared about my difficulties that I have had with eating for many years.  I stated that I was going to start measuring again because I felt I was letting my portions get out of control.  I am still working on getting my portions to be more appropriate, but I have decided that I really don’t want to count and track and measure anymore.  Don’t get me wrong, I think it was necessary to get from where I was to where I am now.  I was completely out of control with over eating. I mean I ate a whole medium pizza by myself for goodness sakes.  But I just can’t seem to force myself to do it and the more I think about it there is one reason that I keep getting/feeling.  Counting and tracking every morsel you eat, for me, is no way to live.

Then I started looking around at other blogs, many of them by dietitians and trainers, and guess what?  Many of them agree with that and in fact a few share their own story of eating disorders and how calorie counting controlled their lives.  So if we don’t count calories to be healthier what are we left with.  We are left with focusing on eating a healthy balanced meal.  Left with actually listening to our bodies and being mindful of what we put in them.  Most importantly listening to our bodies when they tell us, we are full and satisfied.  

So a place to start in trying to figure out what type of servings we “should” have could be looking at the MyPlate model.  It will give you a good idea of what a generally healthy diet would look like. There are of course always exceptions and honestly if you are in a place where for your health you need to loose weight or have special dietary needs this is where a dietitian or a certified trainer can really help out.  

As for me, I am working my way through this, getting advice, doing research, and working on listening to my body to figure out what it needs and what will make it work more efficiently.  One last thing I want to share with you is this post.  Too me it was very powerful and from the feedback the post got for many people it was also powerful.  It’s by a lady named Lindsay, I am just starting to read her blog and stumbled across this post.  It’s a brief description of what she feels to have been one of the best decisions she ever made, to stop counting.  Perhaps part of what you should consider is the motivation behind the counting and does it control you or do you control it? Lindsay’s list:best decision

What do you think, is counting for you right now or is it something that would be more harmful in your journey to be healthy?

Leave a Reply

