Motivation Monday!!

Okay so we all hit slumps and plateaus in our fitness journey.  Right now I am hitting a slump and have been for a bit.  So lets work on getting back on track together!  Here are just a few things to consider to help you:

1. Very few people ever regret going to the gym, they do regret not going.
2. No matter what happens, we can start again and it truly will be a new day tomorrow.

Here’s a picture that I found that was inspiring to me (picture removed for copyright reasons).  For me this couldn’t be more true!  Did you know that exercise increases several of our “happy hormones”?  To be specific they increase endorphins, epinephrine, norepinephrine, seratonin, and dopamine.  I tell anyone who listens it is the best mood stabilizer out there (*unless you have a chemical imbalance that requires medication).  Food is another way to get some of these, but those are typically the high fat/high sugar/high carb foods.  You know the ones, ice cream, mashed potatoes, cinnamon rolls, and heck any kind of bread.  So stay away from those and head to exercise instead.

Here I go again, but seriously running and exercise in general releases all kinds of emotions that bog us down.  The reason I started running is every time I looked at the face of a runner on the street they looked so free and happy, something I really wanted. 

Get up and get out there!  You never know how far you can go in life if you don’t get up and try.  Just start somewhere; find something you really enjoy for exercise.  


My newest interest is my punching bag, I am loving it!  I am having a hard time typing and have bruised knuckles, but I love it.  I have it hanging in my back yard and spent about 30 minutes this afternoon punching the bag, doing jumping jacks, and then doing a bunch of crunches.  I tried the Skinny Ms. flat abs routine.  It definitely did kick my abs…ha! I am going to have to work my way up to doing the whole routine. So let’s do this, lets get out there and get sweaty!  Let’s work on being more mindful of what we are putting in our bodies so that they work better and get stronger.  Imagine where you want to be and then work to get there!  


Tomorrow a list of a few of my favorite workout songs and a few blogs that I have read recently that I really like.  But tell me, what are some of the things you do to get your motivation going again? 

Leave a Reply

