Weekend food prep!

It’s food prep day!  Okay so I started yesterday with my first attempt at roasting chickpeas.  I burned one or two, but overall total success!  I seasoned the chick peas with some cayenne, black pepper, chili powder, and a tiny bit of salt, spicy yum! Then because I am a sucker for spicy I mixed them with some Wasabi peas that I got at the store.  Overnight they melded together and taste so good!  I then put together some dried cranberries, raw almonds, granola, and banana chips in a big baggie that I can take with me to my many offices during the week.  The banana chips I got at Trader Joe’s 8 oz for a little over a buck and they weren’t overly sweetened, such a deal.

The other picture is my meal that I will eat on through the week for lunch.  It’s a mix of butternut squash, chia seeds, quinoa, couscous, green peppers, onion, sunflower seeds, and some chicken breast.  Next to it is my attempt at some frozen greek yogurt bars. I prefer the plain and I added some granola, fresh blueberries, and fresh blackberries.  Not pictured are some chopped up celery, carrots, and green pepper and the rest of the yogurt that I will nibble on.  Tomorrow I am using the new food processor to make my first attempt at hummus!

The processor I finally decided on is the Ninja Total Kitchen System.  It was a good price and says I can process, blend, and juice.  I am excited to see how well it works.  I wanted to do the hummus today, but ran out of steam before I could.  Plus I share a kitchen with my large family and someone who won’t be named is taking his time doing his chore to clean it up *cough Kevin cough*.  So in the mean time I am going to allow myself to sit and rest.  I have the tahini, the chickpeas, the red peppers, garlic, and olive oil. Yes I will be making spicy hummus, what do you expect?  Okay so have an awesome week, I am going to try and come up with some creative and informative posts to put up on an at least semi regular basis.  I have to figure out what still, I am new at this, lol! 

Leave a Reply

